History of the Solomon Bed & Breakfast
In 1939, the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) was responsible for instructing the children of Solomon area. The BIA school opened in 1940 and remained in operation until 1956 when administrators closed the facility in a cost saving effort. Many families had moved to surrounding communities in order to continue their children's education.
Five decades later, the Village of Solomon applied for and received a U.S. Department of Economic Development Administration grant to renovate the abandoned BIA schoolhouse into a viable community center and tourism venture. The Solomon Bed & Breakfast was a remarkable project envisioned by the Village of Solomon's tribal council, community at large and many individuals. After three summers of renovations the vision came true and opened it's doors in 2006.
The Solomon Bed & Breakfast is a charming, historic renovated schoolhouse, located at mile 34 of the Nome/Council Highway, near the Iditarod trail between the White Mountain and Safety checkpoints offering a quiet retreat setting with four guest rooms, each with private bathroom and patio. Guests have access to a state of the art kitchen and dining hall for a continental breakfast. Guests have access to wireless internet throughout the building, our barbecue grill, and use of the canoes and kayaks.
In the summer while staying at the Solomon B&B, watch for unique migratory birds in the Safety Sound/Solomon Delta for magnificent photo opportunities and view historic gold mining dredges around the Solomon area.
By special arrangements, corporate meeting retreats, weddings and large group functions can also be accommodated.
The Gold rush during the summers of 1899 and 1900 brought thousands of people to the Solomon Area. By 1904 Solomon had seven saloons, a post office, a ferry dock, horse stables, a school house and was the southern terminus of a narrow gauge railroad. The Council City and Solomon City Rail Road intended on laying tracks to the gold mine town of Council but fell 20 miles short of that goal when they went bankrupt in 1907. They did provide limited service to miners in the Solomon River from 1904-1907, with runs from the Bonanza channel to the East Fork of the Solomon River. In 1913, the railroad was washed out by storms and the remains of the train can can still be seen in Solomon next to the Bonanza Bridge and is the world renowned 'Last Train to Nowhere'.
In 2002 the Solomon Native Corporation (SNC) partnered with the State of Alaska to apply a protective coating to prevent further damage to the steam engines and built a boardwalk so viewers can walk near the historic train engines. The steam engines were originally used in New York City and were barged all the way to Solomon at the turn of the century.
The Village of Solomon owns and operates the Solomon B&B. The tribe is governed by a seven member traditional council that conducts tribal government affairs on behalf of their tribal membership. It's primary purpose is to design and implement programs to increase the quality of life and well being of the tribe.
To make reservations visit: